Types of inheritence models in Hibernate

By: Emiley J.  

This tutorial discusses what are the types of inheritance models in Hibernate and describes how they work like vertical inheritance and horizontal.

There are three types of inheritance mapping in hibernate

1. Table per concrete class with unions

2. Table per class hierarchy

3. Table per subclass


Let us take the simple example of 3 java classes.

Class Manager and Worker are inherited from Employee Abstract class.

1. Table per concrete class with unions

In this case there will be 2 tables

Tables: Manager, Worker [all common attributes will be duplicated]

2. Table per class hierarchy

Single Table can be mapped to a class hierarchy

There will be only one table in database called 'Employee' that will represent all the attributes required for all 3 classes.

But it needs some discriminating column to differentiate between Manager and worker;

3. Table per subclass

In this case there will be 3 tables represent Employee, Manager and Worker


Archived Comments

1. Good explanation
View Tutorial          By: Siddesh at 2012-07-12 03:53:07

2. It will be better, if you expalin by examples coding...
View Tutorial          By: Parwez at 2012-06-18 08:03:45

3. Simple, Sweet and StraightForward explanation. Thank You :)
View Tutorial          By: Gayatri at 2011-12-02 09:01:50

4. It is easy to understand by beginners .......good one
View Tutorial          By: Guru at 2011-10-04 12:32:49

5. Nice Explanation
View Tutorial          By: sam at 2010-11-24 02:23:57

6. Very Nice and Concrete Explanation ..
View Tutorial          By: Parvesh at 2009-09-18 11:11:00

Most Viewed Articles (in Hibernate )

Latest Articles (in Hibernate)

Comment on this tutorial